rank and advancement

Den Placement by Grade Level 

Kindergarteners - Lions 🦁

First Graders - Tigers 🐯

Second Graders - Wolves 🐺

Third Graders - Bears 🐻

Fourth Graders - Webelos ⚜️

Fifth Graders - Arrow of Light 🏹

For grades 1st - 5th, the Bobcat Rank must be earned before a Cub Scout can achieve their grade level rank, if they have not previously earned their Bobcat badge. Lions cannot earn a Bobcat Rank until they continue the program going into 1st grade.

At the end of 5th Grade, our Pack 514 Cub Scouts bridge over to be Scouts in Troop 514, which is youth lead with adult advisors. Scouts go all the way up until the scout turns 18 years old. 

Based on different topics such as hiking, nature, science, citizenship, first aid, sports, and more, adventures are earned as a Cub Scout advances toward their badge of rank.  Once an adventure is completed, a Cub Scout receives recognition in the form of an adventure loop or adventure pin. 

It Is a Method—Not an End in Itself

Advancement is simply a means to an end, not an end in itself. It is one of several methods designed to help unit leadership carry out the aims and mission of the Boy Scouts of America.

"Be Prepared." "Be prepared for what?" "Why, for any old thing. " - Lord Baden-Powell